

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

August 22, 2016

Contact: Ellen Weiss eweiss@biophysics.org

Bethesda, MD —Biophysical Society Announces the Results of its 2016 Elections

Angela Gronenborn has been elected President-elect of the Biophysical Society. She will assume the office of President-elect at the 2017 Annual Meeting in New Orleans, Louisiana, and begin her term as President during the 2018 Annual Meeting in San Francisco, California.

Gronenborn is a Distinguished Professor and Chair in the Department of Structural Biology at the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine as well as a professor of Bioengineering at the University's School of Engineering. She received her PhD in organic chemistry from the University of Cologne, Germany, and has been a member of the Biophysical Society since 1988. Gronenborn served as a member of the Society's Council from 2010 to 2013.

"I am very honored to serve as President of the Biophysical Society," said Gronenborn. Reflecting on the field, she continued: "As biophysicists, we apply physical approaches to answer biological and biomedical questions – biology is immensely complex and we need multiple perspectives to gain novel insights. That's why integrated multi-disciplinarity is required and members of the Biophysical Society have always embraced this concept. Furthermore, important advances in knowledge are generally driven by new methods that propel our understanding to the next level. Right now we are witnessing revolutionary and spectacular cryoEM/ET and microED advances. As President, I will promote the importance of basic research at the interface of physics, chemistry and biology, free access to information, and open exchanges of ideas across national boundaries."

Kalina Hristova of Johns Hopkins University was elected Treasurer. She will begin her four-year term on July 1, 2017. Hristova received her PhD in material sciences from Duke University and has been a Society member since 1992. She has been active in the Society's subgroups and committees, and is currently serving on the Society's Council as well as on the *Biophysical Journal* Editorial Board.

Four Society members were also elected to serve on Council. They are:

Zev Bryant, Stanford University; Teresa Giraldez, La Laguna University, Spain; Ruben Gonzalez, Columbia University; and Marina Ramirez-Alvarado, Mayo Clinic.

Each will serve a three-year term, beginning on February 14, 2017.

The Biophysical Society, founded in 1958, is a professional, scientific society established to encourage development and dissemination of knowledge in biophysics. The Society promotes growth in this expanding field through its annual meeting, monthly journal, and committee and outreach activities. Its 9000 members are located throughout the U.S. and the world, where they teach and conduct research in colleges, universities, laboratories, government agencies, and industry.

OFFICERS

President

Suzanne Scarlata Worcester Polytechnic Institute

President-Elect

Lukas Tamm University of Virginia

Past-President

Edward Egelman University of Virginia

Secretary

Frances Separovic
University of Melbourne

Treasurer

Paul Axelsen
University of Pennsylvania

Executive Officer

Rosalba Kampman Biophysical Society, Rockville

COUNCIL

Olga Boudker
Jane Clarke
Bertrand Garcia-Moreno
Ruth Heidelberger
Kalina Hristova
Robert Nakamoto
Arthur Palmer
Gabriela Popescu
Joseph D. Puglisi
Michael Pusch
Erin Sheets
Joanna Swain

BIOPHYSICAL JOURNAL

Editor-in-Chief Leslie Loew

COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Awards

Betsy Komives

Early Careers

Bert Tanner

Education

Gina MacDonald

Finance

Paul Axelsen

Inclusion and Diversity

Marina Ramirez-Alvarado

International Relations

Daumantas Matulis

Member Services

Frances Separovic

Membership

Juliette Lecomte

Nominating

Erin Sheets

Professional Opportunities

for Women (CPOW)

Gabriela Popescu

Public Affairs

Edward Egelman

Publications

Olaf Anderson

Thematic Meetings Richard Aldrich